top of page
Corobrik's Student Architecture Awards started in 1986 and is the only competition of its kind for the Masters architectural students in South Africa.

The 8 major South African universities each choose their best Masters architectural student - which is announced as the Corobrik Regional Student Architect of the Year. Each finalist receives a R10 000 cash prize from Corobrik, however Corobrik is not involved in the process of choosing the finalists.

Who chooses the finalists for the Awards?

If you're a Masters architecture student at the 8 major South African universities, you are automatically entered into the competition. You cannot enter if you're not a Masters architecture student at these 8 universities.

Can anyone enter the competition and how do you enter?

The 8 regional finalists get the opportunity to present their thesis to an esteemed panel of judges. The judges are experienced professionals from the South African architecture industry. After the presentations the judges deliberate and decide on who the winner is - based on strict criteria. (Corobrik is not involved in this process)​.

From the 8 regional finalists who decides the national winner?

The national winner receives R70 000 prize money, but more importantly the accolade of being announced the Corobrik Student of the Year. Winning the award gives you the ideal start to your architectural career.

What does the national winner win?

No. Using face brick or Corobrik face bricks is not a requirement to be chosen as a finalist or a winner for the Awards. Corobrik sets no design parameters to the finalists (compared to other competitions of its kind).

Do you have to use bricks in your project in order to win?


Corobrik’s vision for the competition is to give the up and coming architecture students a platform to showcase their architectural talent and creativity.

Nick Booth

Corobrik CEO

bottom of page